SPPD: Dozens of registered sex offenders found to be in compliance

November 23, 2016
Santa Paula News

By Peggy Kelly

Santa Paula Times†

Dozens of registered sex offenders in the city were found to be in compliance with their probation and parole terms Thursday in an annual check, according to a Santa Paula Police spokesman.

According to SPPD Sgt. Cody Madison, 42 registered sex offenders and one arson registrant were all found to be in compliance with their registration.

The November 17 compliance check found that the registered sex offenders and arson registrant were living at their listed residences and are in compliance with their probation or parole violations if they have any.

Madison said people can visit the Meganís Law website at www.meganslaw.ca.gov to view the sex registrants in their community.

Registrants can be looked up by city, ZIP Code or individually.†

Meganís Law, named for 7-year-old murder victim Megan Kanka of New Jersey, was implemented in 1994 on a federal level and adopted singularly by the states. †

There are legal limits on disclosures: only information on registered sex offenders allowed to be disclosed under California law appears on the website. Also under state law, some registered sex offenders are not subject to public disclosure, so they are not included on the website. State law does not allow offenses other than the crimes for which the convicted sex offender is required to register to be disclosed on the Meganís Law website.

There are legal and illegal uses of the website which notes, ďThe information on this website is made available solely to protect the public. Anyone who uses this information to commit a crime or to harass an offender or his or her family is subject to criminal prosecution and civil liability.Ē

Aside from sex offenders, anyone convicted of serious arson crimes that include maliciously setting fire to property, arson causing great bodily injury, arson of an inhabited structure or property, arson of a structure or forest land, attempted arson, possessing a device for arson, and possessing or manufacturing a firebomb must register with the local law enforcement agency in the area where they reside.†

A 1994 arson statute mandated that they register within 14 days after they are released back into the community. Convicted arsonists must register for life, but only have to update it when they move.†

Juveniles convicted of arson crimes only need to register until they turn 25 years old.†





Site Search

E-Subscribe

Subscribe

E-SUBSCRIBE
Call 805 525 1890 to receive the entire paper early. $50.00 for one year.

webmaster